There are several awards associated with the RNA. Some we make ourselves, some we administer, some we are happy to provide a platform for.

The main award is, of course, the Romantic Novel of the Year Award. In previous years this has been sponsored by Parker Pens and Foster Grant Reading Glasses, but in 2007 we are funding it ourselves. The winner receives a generous cash prize as well as a trophy. Almost twenty publishing firms and literary agencies contribute towards the administration and publicity costs of the Awards Luncheon.

The RNA Romance Prize is for 'short', category romances and has been funded from its inception by the generosity of our president, Diane Pearson. There is a cash prize and a Rose Bowl donated by Mills &Boon.


2007 : Iris & Ruby by Rosie Thomas (Harper Collins)
2006 : Gardens of Delight by Erica James (Orion)
2005 : A Good Voyage by Katharine Davies (Chatto & Windus)
2004 : Foreign Fruit by Jojo Moyes (Hodder & Stoughton)
2003 : Playing James by Sarah Mason (Time Warner)
2002 : The Other Boleyn Girl by
Philippa Gregory (Harper Collins)
2001 : Someone Like You by Cathy Kelly (Harper Collins)
2000 : Dancing In The Dark by Maureen Lee (Orion)
1999 : Learning To Swim by Clare Chambers (Arrow)
1998 : Kiss And Kin by Angela Lambert (Bantam)
1997 : The Hours Of The Night by Sue Gee (Century)
1996 : Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher (Hodder & Stoughton)
1995 : Change Of Heart by Charlotte Bingham (Doubleday)
1994 : Consider The Lily by Elizabeth Buchan (Macmillan)
1993 : Emily by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles (Sidgwick & Jackson)
1992 : Sandstorm by June Knox-Mawer (Weidenfeld)
1991 : Phantom by
Susan Kay Law (Transworld)
1990 : Passing Glory by
Reay Tannahill (Century)
1989 : The Peacock's Feather by Sarah Woodhouse (Century)
1988 : The Juniper Bush by Audrey Howard (Century)
1987 : A Better World Than This by Marie Joseph (Century)
1986 : A Song Twice Over by Brenda Jagger (Collins)
1985 : Sunrise by Rosie Thomas (Piatkus)
1984 : A Highly Respectable Marriage by Sheila Walsh (Hurst & Blackett)
1983 : Magic Flutes by Eva Ibbotson (Century)
1982 : Zemindar by
Valerie Fitzgerald (Bodley)
1981 : The Red Staircase by
Gwendoline Butler (Collins)
1980 : Parson Harding's Daughter by Joanna Trollope (Hutchinson)
1980 - Best Modern Award: Mr Rodriguez by Mary Howard (Collins)
1979 : Countess by
Josephine Edgar (Macdonald & Jane)
1979 - Award Of Special Merit: The Emerald Peacock by Katharine Gordon (Hodder & Stoughton)
1978 : Merlin's Keep by
Madeleine Brent (Souvenir)
1978 - Best Modern Award: It Was The Lark by Catherine Macarthur (Macdonald & Jane)
1977 : Every Man A King by Anne Worboys (Hodder & Stoughton)
1976 : The Look Of Innocence by Anna Gilbert (Hodder & Stoughton)
1976 - Best Modern Award: The Moon Is Square by Margaret Maddocks (Hurst & Blackett)
1975 : Vote For A Silk Gown by Jay Allerton (Troubadour)
1974 : The Burning Lamp by Frances Murray (Hodder & Stoughton)
1973 : The House Of Kuragin by
Constance Heaven (Heinemann)
1972 : The Pride Of Innocence by Maynah Lewis (Hurst & Blackett)
1971 : Flower Of Silence by Joanne Marshall (Harlequin Mills & Boon)
1970 : Thea by Margaret Maddocks (Hurst & Blackett)
1970 : Cat On A Broomstick by Joanne Marshall (Herbert Jenkins)
1970 : Broken Tapestry by Rona Randall (Hurst & Blackett)
1969 : Comfort And Keep by Doris E. Smith (Ward Lock)
1968 : The Future Is Forever by Maynah Lewis (Hurst & Blackett)
1967 : The Truth Game by Anne Betteridge (Hurst & Blackett)
1965 : The Silver Answer by Margaret Maddocks (Hurst & Blackett)
1964 : Journey From Yesterday by Suzanne Ebel (Collins)
1963 : House Divided by Dorothy M. Gray (Hurst & Blackett)
1962 : Larksbrook by Margaret Maddocks (Hurst & Blackett)
1961 : The Witches Sabbath by Paula Allardyce (Hodder & Stoughton)
1960 : More Than Friendship by Mary Howard (Collins)


2007 : Marrying Max by Nell Dixon (The People's Friend Story Collection)
2006 : Contracted: Corporate Wife by Jessica Hart (Harlequin Mills & Boon)
2005 : A Family Of His Own by
Liz Fielding (Harlequin Mills & Boon)
2004 : A Damnable Rogue by
Anne Herries (Harlequin Mills & Boon)
2003 : Illusions by Julia Wild (Heartline)